Tags

,

The following message landed in the Guild’s email inbox this week:

I’m looking for a bit of help. I’ve recently become interested in local literature after less recently reconnecting with a childhood passion for reading. I’m looking for a specific type of novel and I’m not sure if it exists. It’s a ferociously difficult thing to ask a computer and the closest thing my questioning of local librarians has yielded is “The Holy Book of the Beard” by Duff Brenna, which is a very entertaining read, but not exactly what I’ve been looking for.

I’m looking for something, of any time period, set in San Diego that follows the sort of memoir / stream of consciousness style employed by Henry Miller, William Burroughs, Jack Kerouac, Hunter Thompson etc.

If there isn’t anything set in San Diego in that style, I’d be interested in finding more plot based work, following the styles of Hemingway, Steinbeck, Wolfe or Didion.

I’m really just looking for a piece of work set in San Diego, where you can crawl into an author’s skin and experience their day to day life. In truth, I’d like to find something written by a woman who has immigrated into San Diego from Mexico, either legally or illegally as I think this would most help broaden my understanding of our culture here.

I know we have Noir and crime dramas and police stories, but I’m looking for something a bit less coherent, a bit less connected, a bit more of the day to day musings of an individual who knows the city and sort of drifts around trying to make sense of what they’re experiencing.

Any information or leads help.

If you have recommendations for books that might meet Rylan’s request, please include them in a comment to this post.

