Tags

Waiting for Snow in Havana

(From KBPS website)

For 10 years, the One Book, One San Diego program has brought the region’s readers together. This year, they’ll come together over the story of a young boy’s journey from Cuba to the U.S. in Carlos Eire’s memoir Waiting for Snow in Havana. In his book, Eire describes life amid the Castro revolution and his escape.

Eire fled Cuba in 1962 without his parents when he was just a child. Eire was one of about 14,000 Cuban children brought to the U.S. as part of Operation Peter Pan.

He says the idea behind the book came from his country’s separated families

“I was separated from my own family,” Eire said on KPBS Midday Edition. “For three and half years I came to the U.S. by myself. And then the Castro regime would not allow my parents to leave. As a matter of fact never allowed my father to leave. I never saw him again. The last time I saw him was at the airport when I was 11.”

For ore information about the One Book, One San Diego program, see the KPBS website.

