Tags

,

La Jolla Writers Conference LogoI attended the La Jolla Writers Conference last weekend, my first, where I had the opportunity to find out how much my writing needs improvement but even more about what I can do to make it better, maybe even good. I heartily recommend attending a Writers Conference sooner than later. Some attendees had completed manuscripts in hand, but most did not. And I observed some eye-opening moments as those with completed manuscripts realized how much more work they still have ahead, especially those without websites, blogs, or a sense of how to use social media to market their books.

So if you haven’t before attended conference, take a look at three more coming up in California within the next three months.

SDSU Writers Conference will be held January 22-24, 2016 at the Marriott Mission Valley San Diego.

UCLA Extension Writers Studio, will be held February 11-14, 2016, at UCLA Campus, Westwood, California .

San Francisco Writers Conference will be held February 11-14, 2016 at the Mark Hopkins Hotel in San Francisco.

Writer’s Symposium by the Sea will be held February 16-19, 2016, at Point Loma Nazarene University.

 

Tip if you do decide to take advantage of one of these conferences: Stay at the venue if it is in a hotel. Two weeks before the conference, I read a post about an Australian author’s first experience at a writers conference. She flew in for the conference, but she chose a less expensive hotel than the one where the conference was held. She regretted this because of the additional time required to get from one hotel to the other, the additional parking hassles, and the missed opportunities to get together informally with other participants. So I bit the bullet and reserved a room at their regular price, about $50 per night higher than the special, but limited-time offer, price for conference attendees. That decision made it possible for me to get in a couple of of thousand words for my NaNoWriMo project that I would have missed if I had had to drive to and from the hotel. It also meant I was able to attend the 7 a.m. early bird session AND stay up until 2 a.m. in one of the red-eye read and critique sessions.

